After the Suit of Cups, the next suit within the minor arcana is the Suit of Swords.

The Suit of Swords is related to the element of air. Air is symbolized negatively and positively in the suit; on the one hand, air can be a calming force; it can be unnoticed and unseen while in constant movement. On the other hand, air can be ferocious and destroy anything in its path.

Air, ironically, is seen as a masculine element – it is a source of power and force while remaining invisible to others. Air is then related to knowledge and wisdom, as well as change, action, and power.

The symbolism of the sword itself is also significant in this suit. Swords are often double-edged, and they have a very fine line where those edges come together. This symbolizes the balance needed between intellect and power to achieve blissful harmony. These two sources (intellect and power) can be used for either good or evil; hence, one must wisely choose their choices and decisions.

Therefore, the Suit of Swords deals with the consciousness that stems from the mind and the intellect; it evaluates the quality of your mind by delving into your attitudes, thoughts, and beliefs. It deals with action, power, and change, but at the same time deals with anger, judgment, and mental abuse.

This suit is representative of the astrological signs of Air – Aquarius, Libra, and Gemini. These people are generally thoughtful, logical, and good at communication – they analyze the world around them. However, individuals with an air sign can also be ridged, ruthless, and aggressive.

The Suit of Swords contains 14 cards; the first 10 are numbered, while the remaining four are called the Page, Knight, Queen, and King of Swords, respectively.

So let’s delve into this suit and explore the cards within it.

Ace of Swords

  • Upright – One who achieves a breakthrough; they achieve mental clarity, new ideas, and then success
  • Reversed – One who suffers from clouded judgment and re-thinks their ideas; inner clarity

Two of Swords

  • Upright – One who is at an impasse, they must weigh their options and make a difficult decision; however, they may avoid doing so
  • Reversed – One who is in a stalemate, they are overloaded with information and hence, suffers from confusion and indecision.

Three of Swords

  • Upright – One who has faced heartbreak and hurt; they suffer through sorrow, grief, and emotional pain
  • Reversed – One who is optimistic, they release their pain and seek forgiveness; negative self-talk

Four of Swords

  • Upright – One who is recovering from an illness, they require rest, relaxation, contemplation, and meditation
  • Reversed – One who is completely exhausted and burnt out, they are in need of deep contemplation and stagnation

Five of Swords

  • Upright – One who needs to win at all costs; no defeat will be accepted even if it leads to disagreements, conflict, or competition.
  • Reversed – One who resents their past; they want to make amends and reconcile with others.

Six of Swords

  • Upright – One who releases their past baggage, it is a rite of passage for them as they go through change and transition
  • Reversed – One who feels they have unfinished business and hence, resists change; a personal transition

Seven of Swords

  • Upright – One who acts strategically and gets away with their actions even if it is done through betrayal and deception
  • Reversed – One who keeps secrets and practices self-deceit; they suffer from imposter syndrome

Eight of Swords

  • Upright – One who has a victim mentality and is caught up with negative thoughts, they practice self-imposed restriction.
  • Reversed – One who releases their negative thoughts to open themselves up to new perspectives; one who has an inner critic and self-limiting beliefs.

Nine of Swords

  • Upright – One who suffers from nightmares, they feel anxious, depressed, worried, and fearful
  • Reversed – One who has deep-seated fears, they have secrets and suffer from inner turmoil; one who releases their worry

Ten of Swords

  • Upright – One who has experienced a painful ending; they have gone through a crisis of betrayal and loss, resulting in deep wounds.
  • Reversed – One who resists an inevitable end; regeneration and recovery

Page of Swords

  • Upright – One who is curious and has a thirst for knowledge; they explore new ideas and new ways of communicating
  • Reversed – One who takes action hastily and haphazardly, they take action but reach no result

Knight of Swords

  • Upright – One who thinks fast and is driven towards success; they are ambitious
  • Reversed – One who is impulsive, restless, and lacks focus

Queen of Swords

  • Upright – One who communicates directly and has clear boundaries; they are unbiased and independent
  • Reversed – One who is cold-hearted; they are overly emotional and easily influenced

King of Swords

  • Upright – The intellectual; they have mental clarity and hold the truth; power
  • Reversed – One who misuses power through manipulation; they hold inner truth

(All meanings are based on the Rider-Waite tarot card deck)


If you are to receive a free tarot reading comprised mainly of sword cards, it means that you might be struggling with mental conflicts and with making decisions. It urges you to become aware of the events occurring around you. Now with a better understanding of the sword suit itself, you can gain a better insight into the problems in your life that require your attention.

Nowadays, it is very easy to receive a tarot card reading. If you have a tarot card reader in your area, you can receive a reading with ease or choose to have one online.

Understanding the meanings behind the cards can also be a step towards becoming a tarot reader yourself! It easily helps you to enhance and grow your love for tarot reading – it can also enable you to perform your own readings yourself.

Start with this free tarot reading (insert external link) today to begin your tarot journey!

Related Posts